About Calvary Public Hospital Bruce

Calvary Public Hospital Bruce is co-located with Calvary Bruce Private Hospital in the northern suburbs of Canberra, ACT. Spread over two campuses, we serve the communities of North Canberra, Belconnen and the Gungahlin precinct and surrounding areas of the ACT and NSW.

The Bruce campus offers acute and sub-acute services, while the Barton campus is home to the Clare Holland House Hospice, the 19 bed inpatient unit, a Specialist Community Palliative Care Service and the Calvary Centre for Palliative Care Research.

Our model of care sees multidisciplinary teams work collaboratively to provide a high quality of patient care to our 256 bed hospital and associated community and ambulatory care services.

We offer an extensive range of medical, surgical and maternity services. Our Emergency Department is open 24 hours per day, every day of the year, seeing in excess of 56,000 presentations a year. Suitable patients may receive medical care in their home or other residential setting through Calvary’s Hospital in the Home program.

From our Barton campus, Clare Holland House is the leading provider of palliative and end-of-life care in the ACT, providing a mix of inpatient, outpatient and residential / community based services.

Services provided by Calvary Public Hospital Bruce campus include:

  • a 24/7 emergency department
  • intensive and coronary care
  • medical and surgical inpatient services
  • maternity services
  • aged care and rehabilitation services
  • voluntary psychiatric services
  • specialist outpatient clinics
  • Hospital in the Home service

Service provided at Clare Holland House Barton campus include:

  • 19-bed inpatient specialist palliative care service
  • palliative care outpatients clinics
  • community based domiciliary palliative care service

You can find out more about our existing and future services in our 2017-2020 Strategic Plan which is available below.

 CPHB_Strategic Plan_2017_2020

As a teaching hospital, Calvary Public Hospital Bruce is affiliated with the Australian Catholic University, the Australian National University and the University of Canberra as well as providing clinical placements for a number of other tertiary providers.

Established in 1979 by our founders, the Sisters of the Little Company of Mary, Calvary Public Hospital Bruce is part of the ACT Health Services network, and is funded by the ACT Government under the Calvary Network Agreement.

Calvary Public Hospital Bruce Executive Team


Shelley Castree-Croad
Acting CEO
02 6201 6101

Frances Brown

Frances Brown
ACT Director of Mission
02 6201 6106


Bill Morfis
Chief Financial Officer
02 6201 6204


Dr John Vinen

Dr John Vinen
Director of Clinical Services – Medical
02 6201 6592


Hamish Jeffreys
Director of Clinical Services – Nursing and Midwifery
02 6201 6160

Sheryl Harrison

Sheryl Harrison
Director Clinical Governance
02 6201 6818


Steve McLean
Director People and Organisational Development
02 6264 7239

Community Advisory Council

The Community Advisory Council assists the CEO with, and provides advice on, community and stakeholder engagement. Through this group local consumers and communities can help us to make the best decisions when it comes to planning our services. Representatives are drawn from a broad cross section of the community and meet with Calvary Public Hospital Bruce executives on a regular basis.

Consumer representatives

  • Robert Gunning
  • Caroline Hughes
  • Fr Tony Percy

Calvary representatives

  • Brenda Ainsworth
    National Director Calvary Public Hospitals, Calvary
  • Shelley Castree-Croad
    Acting Chief Executive Officer, Calvary Public Hospital Bruce
  • Frances Brown
    Director Mission Integration, Calvary Canberra
  • Jennifer Raxworthy
    Transition Manager, Calvary Public and Private Hospitals Bruce
  • Rowena Fawole, Grace Clinical Manager